Monday, July 5, 2010

What I Neglected, Part I: Germany

Posted in Friends & Other Travelers, Travels at 5:42 pm by graceandpoise

So as I’ve alluded to before (and as two people have since asked me about – hi Mom and Hubby!), I took a bit of a hiatus from blogging while I was traveling from India to home and during my weeks of Home Leave.  So, to make up for it, I’m going back in time a little.  First up: Deutschland.

We stopped by Germany on our way back from India for two reasons: that’s a long fricking set of flights, and one of my best friends lives there.  She’s a psych nurse, and she’s been living near Ramstein Air Force Base since the end of 2008, helping to triage the guys coming out of Iraq and Afghanistan.  And she has a little daughter who I’d never met before.  We had a fabulous time…

. . . go-kart-ing . . .

. . . wandering . . .

. . . watching sunsets while eating . . .

. . . wandering . . .

. . . celebrating May Day . . .

. . . wandering . . .

. . . talking and playing . . .

. . . and wandering.

S. Rael:  Thank you.  So much.

2 Comments »

  1. Chantel Sloan said,

    That’s Summer who did PC Nicaragua?! Cool! I remember when I was “jealous” of the fact that she was able to have a horse when she was there and she sent me a picture postcard of it! I have wondered where she ended up after PC and it looks like she’s doing great. Her little girl is a DOLL! That sounds like an awesome “layover” and I bet you enjoyed being back in Germany for a few days . . . did the German still come back to you with all of the languages you now have in your head?! So how has life been back in D.C.?!!?

    🙂 Chantel

  2. Roger Kent said,

    Dear Wonderful FS Person doing a Thankless Job!

    Greetings. I am a Training and Development profession living in the Sierra Nevada Mountains in California.

    I am responding to two RFP’s for the Foreign Service Institute for “experiential learning” (ropes courses etc.) in Leadership and Team Building. I can give you the two proposal numbers, one for civil service FS folks and the other for FS Officers, if you wish to verify.

    I was wondering if you have a moment to answer two questions:

    Q1: What are the particular challenges of leadership and/or teambuilding that you find in a Foreign Service posting?

    Q2: If there were one thing you would like FS Staff to know before a posting overseas about the interpersonal/leadership challenges of this assignment what would it be?

    One proposal is due Friday 7/30 and the other Wednesday 8/13. I would not mention your comment by name in developing my proposal only by continent: “…from a Foreign Service officer currently serving in Africa”

    I am happy to Skype you at your convenience if you don’t feel like putting finger to keyboard.

    Thank you.

    Roger Kent
    Nevada City, CA
    530-632-2062

    I know not how to aid you, save in the assurance of one of mature age, and much severe experience, that you can not fail, if you resolutely determine, that you will not.
    — A. Lincoln July 22, 1860 Letter to George Latham

    rkent@theprojectgroup.biz


Leave a Reply

