Sunday, April 4, 2010

Acro-Yoga!

Posted in Diversions, Generalities, India at 11:40 pm by graceandpoise

Yesterday, I tried something new.  Okay, well kind of new, at least.  Our former Bombay yoga teacher, Mike (happens to be an American guy who happens to call DC home and happens to have gone to my undergrad alma mater in Washington) would talk sometimes about his passion for this thing called acro-yoga.  He’d even demonstrate it from time to time, getting various class-members to balance in the air on his feet and do twists and bends.  But we’d never tried it out for real until yesterday, when a teacher from elsewhere was in town and held a special one-time-only workshop at our normal studio.  I have to say, I totally LOVED it.  Yes, it’s intimidating, and yes, there are several things I’m just not strong enough or flexible enough to be able to do properly (yet).  But it is LOADS of fun, and it’s novel, and did I mention it’s fun?  Sadly, I didn’t have my camera at the ready, but Soniya, a long-time classmate from Mike’s class, came prepared.  We did do some of the more adventurous poses too, but we were all too absorbed in what we were doing to get photos of those…

Happy Easter, everybody!

2 Comments »

  1. […] the wife and I attended our first basic acroyoga workshop. She writes about the experience over at her blog, but here’s my summary in haiku […]

  2. It’s Friday, and that means that the Two Month Blogiversary of the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:

    http://bit.ly/aZJeOz

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

