Thursday, June 5, 2008

Good News

Posted in Foreign Service Life, Generalities at 7:12 pm by graceandpoise

I got a phone call today from one of the other employees at work – specifically, from the guy who’s in charge of tracking shipments and making sure that people get their things when they come to or leave a post.  It went a little something like this:

He: Hello, I wanted to tell you something.
Me: Okay, what’s up?
He: I have news.
Me: Okay…
He: Don’t worry, it’s not bad news.
Me: Oh, good.
He: It’s good news.
Me: Great!
He: Can I tell you the good news?
Me: Of course!
He: Are you ready to hear it?
Me: Yes!
He: It’s about your air freight shipment.
Me: Okay…
He: It’s arrived.
Me: Great! So, what do I need to do?
He: We can deliver it to your house.
Me: Good!
He: We can deliver it tomorrow.
Me: Tomorrow? That’s great!
He: Can you be at the apartment tomorrow?
Me: I’ll have to clear it with my managers, but I think so – at least one of us should be able to.
He: We’ll come at 9 o’clock.

The moral of the story?  My stuff is coming.  Well, part of it, anyway.  He called me again a scant few seconds after we’d hung up to tell me that, so as not to be unfair, they’ll deliver my husband’s air freight together with mine.  So: our stuff is coming.  Well, part of it, anyway.

I also learned today that we are allowed to paint the walls in our apartment, which should be extra-fun because it’s got some architectural features like recessed parts of walls and ceilings and such, so we’ve got multiple surfaces to work with.  Any suggestions on colors?  A friend of mine in another country has used purple to great effect, which is tempting (seriously, when else are you going to paint a wall purple except in a tropical country?) but her apartment is brighter and more modern, so I’m not sure…  Got ideas?  Share them!

Leave a Reply

