Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Proof

Posted in Generalities at 8:52 pm by graceandpoise

I don’t quite know where the phrase, “The proof is in the pudding” came from. Everybody knows, the proof is in the photos. Pudding really has very little to do with it.

I really have left Korea. As evidence, my last photo of the place (it’s hazy because it’s Korea in March, but if you look closely you can see it):

Last glimpse of Korea through the haze

I spent some time at home, recuperating, drawing strength from the familiar and from the love of family and friends. I went to some birthday parties, got some administrative stuff taken care of, helped my mom paint some walls, and slept more than I perhaps ought to have. And then I got on a plane . . .

Flight from Seattle to DC

. . . and came to DC. Now I’m living with my husband in an apartment on Capitol Hill. What?! Living with my husband?! Living with? I find I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop, waiting for the day when I’ll realize (or someone will inform me) that one of us has to get on a plane and fly to the other side of the globe. Even though I keep telling myself it’s not going to happen, I remain unconvinced. I guess I’m no match for me.

Also: work is great right now – I am learning all sorts of things about South Asia (that’s the region encompassing India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh) that I never knew. Not that I ever knew much, but this is taking the whole “you learn something new every day” thing to a whole new level.

So life is good. And I’m living with my husband (!!). Pretty soon, when someone asks me the eternal “so how’s married life?” question, I think I may have an answer.

Leave a Reply

