Sunday, January 6, 2008

Fresh Air

Posted in Generalities at 9:06 pm by graceandpoise

I went home for Christmas.  And it was great.  Fantastic, even.  I know it’s cliché, but there really, truly is something to be said for spending the holidays with people you love and who love you back.  I was able this year to do just that, spending a couple of weeks with my wonderful mother and my lovely husband (yes, it still feels strange to say that word).

Last year I spent Christmas and New Year’s here in Korea.  It was fine, I hung out with some friends and colleagues here, I opened presents that my friends and family had generously sent to me across oceans, and I spent a lot of time on the phone.  But this year, it was so much richer.  It was like a breath of fresh air – the kind you get when you don’t realize you’ve been breathing stagnant, polluted air for months until that breath, and it’s at once delightful and shocking and utterly delicious.   Talk about starting a new year off right.

So here’s to fresh air. And along with it, a brand new, fresh year, with all its attendant new hopes, new places, and new experiences. And here’s hoping more of us will be able to spend more time this year with those we love than without them.  What could be better than that?

Leave a Reply

