Friday, November 16, 2007

Here we go…

Posted in Generalities, Korea at 7:53 pm by graceandpoise

It’s officially winter.

Yes, I know what you’re about to say: that it’s not officially winter until December 20th. But I beg to differ – it’s definitely winter according to the weather gods, and what better authority could one ask for to make it official?

How do I know it’s officially winter? I had to scrape the frost off my car windows before I could go anywhere this morning. And tonight when I came home after three hours of standing in a poorly-warmed tent helping with a mock evacuation exercise, I couldn’t get inside and away from the cold wind quickly enough.

I have to admit, I have not been looking forward to this winter. Everyone has been saying for the better part of a year now that this winter is supposed to be a particularly bitter one. Cold is alright, (as someone who likes skiing, I can’t dislike it entirely), but unfortunately, I’m not really all that fond of the truly bitter cold that everyone says is coming my way for the next few months.

On the up-side, there’s nothing better than dealing with bitter cold outside to make coming inside to a warm house one of the most welcoming feelings.

Leave a Reply

