Friday, October 12, 2007

Fingers Crossed

Posted in Foreign Service Life at 10:26 pm by graceandpoise

Today I submitted a list to the State Department.  It’s a list of the 20 places/jobs from a list of 423 places/jobs that I think might not be bad for my next tour of duty.

There were a lot of factors to consider: Is the post big enough to be able to have two jobs so I can live together with my husband? Is the job something that’s not going to drive me to a nervous breakdown? Is the location a place that I might be able to see myself living? Does the timing work for when I’m supposed to leave Seoul? Do I speak the language? Does my husband speak the language? What kind of training will I need? Will any of the jobs still be there when they get down to the last-priority people on the list (aka: me)?

Thinking about all of these things at once and trying to sort them out has kept my mind pretty busy over the past couple of weeks. But now it’s over. The list has been sent, and it’s in the hands of a higher power now. (That would be the assignments officer, in case you’re wondering.)  So: fingers crossed.  Think good thoughts.

2 Comments »

  1. Good luck with the bidding. Can you give us a hint at your possible choices?

  2. Sorry – no hints till the word is handed down. Don’t wanna jinx it.


Leave a Reply

