Sunday, September 16, 2007

Ratatouille

Posted in Diversions, Foreign Service Life, Generalities at 8:35 pm by graceandpoise

I’ve never been terribly good at cooking for just me.

This has led over the years to many, many nights of eating bare pasta or plain hard-boiled eggs or simple homemade crepes for dinner. Things that can be done easily in small quantities and don’t require ingredients like meat or vegetables that are sometimes not readily available, but that may not be the healthiest or most well-rounded meals.

It has also led to many dinner parties. While one motivation for these has always been to see my friends and to enjoy a homemade meal with them, there is usually also another motivation: the urge to actually cook. I enjoy cooking, and I’m pretty sure I’m decently good at it – I’m just really bad at doing it for just one.

Case in point: tonight I decided to cook. I have enjoyed a good ratatouille since my days as a college student in Paris, and earlier today my husband mentioned that he might make some for his Sunday dinner (yes, we’re still apart – don’t get me started). It sounded like such a good idea, I decided to copy him, modifying the recipe a touch to make it my own. This is what I ended up with:

Pot o' Ratatouille

Seriously, this is enough food for about 6 people. I’m pretty sure I’ll be tired of eating ratatouille before this is gone. The good news: dinner was very yummy, and I’ve managed (for once) to make myself a nutritious meal. Added bonus: “ratatouille” is really fun to say out loud.

1 Comment »

  1. KG said,

    I miss you terribly, beautiful.


Leave a Reply

