Tuesday, July 24, 2007

They both start with “S” and have 5 letters…

Posted in Bulgaria, Foreign Service Life, Friends & Other Travelers, Generalities, Korea, Peace Corps at 9:57 pm by graceandpoise

I got a random email a few weeks ago from Tsvety, a girl I used to (sort of) teach while I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Bulgaria. At first, I was excited to see an email from her simply because I was interested to learn what she’d been up to lately, but then I read the email. Turns out she was soon to depart for a summer in, of all places, Seoul, Korea. Insane coincidence? Absolutely.

Just as surprising: there’s a university in Sofia, Bulgaria that has a Korean philology department. I’m still mystified as to why, but apparently it really does exist. So my friend is here, living in Seoul with a family who is acquainted with a Korean family she met in Sofia, practicing her Korean language skills and doing the cultural immersion thing.

This weekend we got together and wandered around part of Seoul a little bit. It was really nice to see her again and to hear about some of the things that are going on in my favorite little Bulgarian hometown. And I’m really enjoying my role as the go-to person when she wants a “western”- style break from the norm of all Korean all the time that she has on a day-to-day basis.

With Tsvety at Deoksugung

Leave a Reply

