Tuesday, February 27, 2007

I’ll Admit It…

Posted in Foreign Service Life at 10:03 pm by graceandpoise

. . . I’m jealous.

Many of my A-100 colleagues are either receiving word of what their onward assignments will be (since they have about a year or so before they complete their first tours) or actually leaving post upon completion of their first tour.  The most recent reports from these individuals are filled with a certain elation and sense of hope.

I know a lot of us have had a rougher time on our first tours than we may have anticipated, so the news of where we are going next is eagerly awaited and gives us something to look forward to, a place with a name that we may allow ourselves to imagine might be better.  And I’m jealous.  I want that.  I wish I had it.  And I wish I, too, had my wonderful loving fiance waiting to meet me at an airport in the very near future.  The whole thing threatens to bring tears of longing (don’t worry, I’m holding them back).

Leave a Reply

