Thursday, September 14, 2006

Something’s Wrong With This Picture

Posted in Generalities, On the Internet at 9:07 pm by graceandpoise

I try to keep my political views to a minimum in this forum, but as someone who wrote her graduate thesis on the impending refugee issues due to climate change and rising sea levels, and as someone who grew up going with her father to the original, unassuming coffee bean store that was Starbucks, the following struck me.

Two different articles on the BBC’s website today: The first, talking about some New Yorker who was so upset about not getting a free cup of coffee from Starbucks he launched a $114 million dollar lawsuit. Seems a bit excessive to me, but then again, I’m not the litigious type. But then I noticed the second article further down the page, talking about climate change and the fact that rising sea levels are already pushing thousands of the rural poor out of their homes and into growing urban slums, making them even poorer in the process. Isn’t it possible that (a) not getting a free cup of coffee is not that big of a deal, and (b) there’s a whole world of better and more important things out there that could benefit from that $114 million? Honestly, people.

1 Comment »

  1. Rory N. said,

    I like your attitude.

    Coffee culture sometimes gets out of hand. I had to catch myself when I started relating expenses and earnings to how many cups of coffee I could afford. Switching my “cafe expenditures,” including tips, over to, say, international volunteer vacations, would lead to one more vacation a year.

    Time for “cafe re-engineering.”


Leave a Reply

