Tuesday, June 20, 2006

Calculating Germs

Posted in Generalities at 8:08 pm by graceandpoise

It's uncanny how germs seem to strike exactly when it would be most inconvenient for a person to get sick. It's almost like they lay painstaking plans to hit people at the most inopportune times. A couple of examples: the last time I got truly ill was when I had a plane to catch from Seattle back to the east coast in two days – if it hadn't been for some serious horse-pills, I have every confidence my head would have exploded on that plane. Last month, one of my Peace Corps friends who was meant to come to Chicago and join us for the "reunion" weekend got sick the day before he was supposed to catch the plane out – he ended up having to stay home and forfeit the price of his tickets. And now, just when I've entered a phase of my training at FSI wherein missing a single day is unacceptable and can screw up all of the travel arrangements on my way to Korea because any missed hours must be made up, I have gotten sick once again. This, after eight long months of Korean language training during which missing two or three days could easily have been accommodated. I think maybe germs are way smarter than we give them credit for and far more devious than we would like to believe.

2 Comments »

  1. Shawn said,

    That’s no fun. I’m in a similar situation right now. I’m trying to fight off a cold, but I think it is winning. My class is 100% attendance also (no matter how much I wish it wasn’t.)

    I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Katie said,

    You should eat some kim chee; it’s great for curing colds, preventing avian flu, mending broken bones… or so I’m told. Japan, of course, has no equivalent — and even if they did, it wouldn’t be as good.

    Er, that’s not an official State Department position, in case anyone in Tokyo is reading.

    Thanks for your message on my blog. I have certainly learned a hard lesson regarding information sharing, which I hope will soon be only a distant memory (though the friend it involved is doing his best to keep said memory fresh and very present).

    I’m sure your desire to attend ConGen will win out over any wily bacteria. ‘Ganbatte!’ (“Hang in there”) as we say in Ilbon…


Leave a Reply

