Wednesday, June 7, 2006

News Bulletin

Posted in Foreign Service Life at 10:11 pm by graceandpoise

I am finally done with Korean training, and with the horrible "area studies" course that is a required part of long-term language training. Today, after almost 8 months of daily toil, I had my final test in Korean and I managed to meet my training goal. FSI language scores work on a scale of zero to five, with zero being someone who has no functionality in the language at all and five being someone who is able to discuss and explain the meaning of life in the language without any hint of an accent. (Yes, by the standards of FSI, I have my doubts as to whether I would score a five in English). They throw in pluses for nuance in the scores, in case someone is above one level but doesn't quite meet the qualifications for the next level. At any rate, today I was given a score of 2/0+, with the first score being for speaking proficiency and the second for reading. My training goal was 2/0. Realistically, they probably gave me some serious benefit of the doubt on the speaking part of that score, but I'm certainly not about to argue.

Next up: tomorrow morning I start the ConGen course. It's a class that's conducted in English and is actually about something – hooray! But best of all, there will be other people in the class. Wow, now that's exciting!

Leave a Reply

