Friday, June 2, 2006

Shakespeare in the Rain

Posted in Generalities at 1:41 pm by graceandpoise

I went with a friend to see Pericles last night.  Every year, the Shakespeare Theatre Company here in DC does what they call a "Free for All," basically a performance of one of their shows from the previous season that is offered in a large outdoor venue with free tickets for the public.  This year, the show in question was Pericles, and let me tell you it was a great time.  I realized at some point in the evening that I have not been to the theatre in about a year, and I have missed it.  Also, the oppressive heat and humidity broke during the evening with a rainstorm, so I not only got to see a Shakespeare play done well, but I also got to have a very good excuse to sit out in the cool rain and enjoy it.  All in all, a very good evening. As the aforementioned friend puts it: amazing and truly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

