Friday, May 12, 2006

Bulgarska Rabota

Posted in Generalities, Peace Corps, Travels at 1:30 pm by graceandpoise

Every now and then, I come across something that just takes me right back to my days as a Peace Corps volunteer in Bulgaria, frustrated beyond belief with what I perceived to be the ridiculousness of the way things are (or are not) done there. The BBC has highlighted one of the more amusing items of late, which may be of interest to those whose luxury cars have been stolen elsewhere in Europe.

The Bulgarians have a phrase for things like this: Българска работа, “Bulgarska Rabota.” Literally, it means “Bulgarian work/deeds,” but its intended meaning is more to the effect of “Oh, well, what can you do?” or “Yes, it’s inefficient/ridiculous/maddening, but that’s just how it is and it can’t be changed.” So next time you’re walking through the streets of Sofia, wondering why you are seeing souped-up sports cars and SUVs as police vehicles, just roll your eyes, throw your hands up in the air, shrug, and say, “Bulgarska rabota.”

2 Comments »

  1. Katya - A language and cultural facilitator in Bulgaria working in Peace Corps V said,

    I am so much remainded of what my life used to be, or more likely how the bulgarian perceive themselves. What a contradiction. Now, I live in canada and I don’t miss the phraze but agree with the meaning you discribed.

  2. rabota said,

    shit happens


Leave a comment