Tuesday, April 18, 2006

5 1/2 Months

Posted in Foreign Service Life at 12:35 am by graceandpoise

One of my Korean teachers asked me today how long I had been studying Korean. I thought about it for a minute, and then I realized that I've been studying this crazy language for five and a half months. Five and a half months! For heaven's sake, you would think after all this time of studying so hard all week every week I would be able to hold a coherent conversation at a tempo greater than about a sentence a minute. As it is, my pauses trying to figure out words or grammar constructions seem to at least triple the amount of time it takes me to say anything. I'm really starting to think I just need to go to Korea and simply start winging it there. I mean, it can't actually be that difficult – lots of people speak Korean, and lots of Koreans speak English, right? There's got to be some sort of simplified, everyday version of the language that's not as complicated, right?

Leave a Reply

