Sunday, April 9, 2006

U-G-L-Y…

Posted in In DC at 7:58 pm by graceandpoise

I bit the bullet and went shopping today. In one of the last stores I went to, there were these two kids, maybe 8 or 9 years old, telling one another how ugly they were. Then one of them breaks into the "U-g-l-y, you ain't got no alibi…" rhyme and I couldn't help myself. There I was staring at yet another pair of cropped, torn, embroidered and be-dazzled jeans, wondering whether these were the ugliest pair I'd seen yet, and these kids break into the ugly song. Not laughing would have been simply too much to ask.

My jeans shopping was pretty productive today, though. Well, not in terms of finding a couple of good pairs of jeans as I had planned, but I did find one. And I ended up coming home with a lot more than just that. The results of my day are as follows:

IMGP0680.JPG

Most of this is stuff I've been meaning to pick up for quite a while and just hadn't gotten around to it. Though the jeans are definitely an accomplishment, I'm most excited about the crimson purse. This will be my first venture into the world of colorful purses (tote bags don't count), and I'm looking forward to not having to change purses when I change from brown shoes to black. Next thing on the list: another good pair of jeans, probably to be put off until the next time I'm in NYC and can go to this great little jeans shop there.

Leave a Reply

